My blog doesn’t really have a theme; it’s just a random collection of things that are going on in my life that I want to share. I keep the topics pretty broad so more people will be inclined to read. As a result, the math posts tend to be low. I don’t want my blog to be a “math blog” (you can find a list of such blogs here, or just google “math blogs”). It should be noted that online collaborative mathematics has become quite popular recently. Sites like Math Overflow and Terence Tao’s blog are great examples.

Having said that, I’ve decided that my next few posts will be more math related; in particular, I’ll be posting a couple of algebra theorems each week for the next few weeks. Here’s why. The algebra qualifying exam is in about a month and I’ve been studying really hard for it. I know that some of the other TA’s are studying really hard for it too; and since some of them occasionally glance at my blog (I know, I can’t believe it either), I think it’s worth while to share some of the key algebra theorems.

For the mathematically inclined, please feel free to comment and critique any of the results you see posted. A lot of the proofs are my own, which means there might (will) be errors. Enjoy.

