I’ve been back in California for about a week now and I’ve finally gotten around to unpacking and getting settled in. While unpacking I came across some spare change leftover from my trip. I have a little less than 1 euro and about fifty pence, all in coins. At first I was tempted to just throw it away, but then I Googled “what to do with leftover foreign currency”. There were several suggestions, some people did indeed just throw away their leftover money and some people just saved it in a junk drawer. This wasn’t very helpful. Finally, there was the suggestion of donating it! UNICEF has a program called Change for Good which is designed specifically for this situation. You can donate any leftover foreign currency you have accumulated while traveling. I thought this was pretty cool! I’ll be stopping by the post office tomorrow to send my donation.

